Just Call Me a Quaintrelle: Female Dandy for short

Coco Channel

 

I would say I am a “Female Dandy”

In this article An Ode to That Rare Creature, the Female Dandy

http://nymag.com/thecut/2015/03/ode-to-that-rare-creature-the-female-dandy.html

the women exude a quality, a class, a style a way of living that is lived through passion, savoring of life,

the female dandy is its own archetype, known as the quaintrelle

The term comes from the wordquaint — a much more elegant coinage than its precursors, dandyessand dandizette.

As one online dictionary has it, a quaintrelle [Dandy] is

“a woman who emphasizes a life of passion expressed through personal style, leisurely pastimes, charm, and cultivation of life’s pleasures,”

and as the article states after quoting, shouldn’t that be all of us?

A further description later in the article gives another viewpoint..

“Her hands are gloved, she is helmeted, and inaccessible; a cold and disturbing beauty [through which] pierces a formidable being — this woman is free!”

Tamara De Lempicka

 

While most of this is true, I do not feel that all “Dandy” women are cold and inaccessible. However, I do feel as this statement says, the women like this do tend to have that “Je ne se quoi” 

An intangible quality that makes something distinctive or attractive

I think I attain some of that, however being in The Des Moines Women’s Club reminds me every Wednesday that I still have something to strive for an attain. There are so many women in the club that have this, finesse, about them. The carry themselves with such eloquence and I admire them so just I used to admire ladies from my church in years past. There was one lady Sister Kiester that had this formidable quality about her. She hosted fine dinners, her clothes were always impeccable, and her was perfectly coiffed. She was something to aspire to.

I recently have thought more about my wardrobe choices, style, demeanor and manner in which I present myself and wonder if others look at me that way or if they just see me as some silly girl playing dress up? Then there are shows like Advanced Style  who have this style and grace about them. 

I get shown this movie over and over. People always send it to me or tell me I remind them of these ladies. I am 45 this year and have my own style and am told I fit the description of  “people who live full creative lives. They live life to the fullest, age gracefully and continue to grow and challenge themselves.” As well, I believe Ari should check out The Des Moines Women’s Club with all the impeccable women who have that same sir and quality about them! I feel that style is relative and I desire to dress as I choose and have my own flair for dress as well as life.

I think Dietrich best described it summing up the allure of the quaintrelle:

Her attire isn’t meant to please others, only herself.

If you know me, you know one of my mantra’s is to always Be Yourself. Live your life for yourself. Do as you desire and happiness will follow. Wear what you desire to wear no matter how ostentatious it may be. If YOU love it, FEEL great in it, then that is all that matters.

I leave with you my Mantra

“When given the option of being fabulous, why would you choose anything else?”

Xoxo, Trisha Trixie

Be Fabulous Perfume Ad

Please Leave a Reply

