Recipe Sunday: Dandelion’s are for more than wishes…

Everyone knows Dandelions are great for picking up, inhaling your biggest breath and wishing away… but they are for other things too.

946452-bigthumbnail

 

I love looking up and finding natural, organic recipes to do things. I was looking for an image this week and saw this recipe for infused Dandelion Vinegar and just HAD to share it with you.

http://www.sustaincreateandflow.com/wild-about-dandelion/

dandelions-pressed-down

 

I first gather my blossoms, enough to fill whatever jar I am working with.  *Note*  I only gather from trusted sources.  I do not spray my lawn with any chemicals and I have an abundance of dandelion so I gather happily.  I would be leery gathering from a park or other manicured lawn because it’s a sure bet there will be chemical sprays used.  Use caution! –

 

Next, I lightly press the dandelions down into the jar and pour apple cider vinegar over the top of them to fill the jar.

 

cap with a plastic mason jar lid (because the acid of the vinegar corrodes the metal ring and lid), and place in a sunny window.  It is generally not sunny where I live, so I am more likely to place the infusion on the counter in the kitchen where I will remember to shake it once per day, for 6-8 weeks.

I can’t wait to use this dandelion-infused apple cider vinegar as a hair rinse and as a salad dressing.  I will gather dandelion leaves and make a dandelion dressing for a healthful and tasty treat.  Here’s how:

Dandelion Salad with Goat Cheese and Apple

  • 2 T Dandelion-Infused ACV
  • 3 T olive oil
  • 1 t dijon mustard
  • 1 t raw honey
  • 1 clove (minced) garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste

Whisk the above ingredients and pour over and lightly toss with:

  • 1 large bunch, (3 big handfuls) dandelion greens, washed and dried
  • 1/2 c chopped walnuts
  • 1 apple, chopped

Top with fresh goat cheese

 

SOURCE: http://www.sustaincreateandflow.com/wild-about-dandelion/

 

Until Next time,

 

Trisha Trixie

classic

Please Leave a Reply

