Throwback Thursday: Hand Clapping Games

When I was young I used to love those old school style games. One of my favorites I wrote about already was Skipping Games. But my most favorite of all was Hand Clapping Games.  I may not have had many friends growing up, but I was always able to find someone to play Hand Clapping Games with.

There are so many songs that go with them, I wouldn’t even be able to name all the songs so I went hunting online  and found this list of songs that go with them. Hand Clapping Song List. 

A clapping game (or hand game) is a type of usually cooperative (i.e., non-competitive) game which is generally played by two players and involves clapping as accompaniment to a singing game or reciting of a rhyme, often nursery rhymes. Clapping games are found throughout the world and similar games may be known throughout large areas with regional variation. WIKI Clapping Games

My Favorite Song I did was Say Say Playmate….

 

Say, Say, Oh Playmate

Say, say, oh playmate,
Come out and play with me.
Bring out your dollies three.
Climb up my apple tree.
Slide down my rainbow
Into my cellar door.
And we’ll be jolly friends
Forevermore, one two three four!

Instructions:

 

Say, Say, Oh Playmate

Say, say, oh playmate,
Come out and play with me.
Bring out your dollies three.
Climb up my apple tree.
Slide down my rainbow
Into my cellar door.
And we’ll be jolly friends
Forevermore, one two three four!

Instructions:

Start off with the action for most clapping games then clap your right hand with your partner’s right hand, next clap your hands, then clap your left hand with your partner’s left hand and then clap your hands twice. Now do it once more.

 

Here is a short video on a game called Slide

 

Please Leave a Reply

