Throwback Thursday: Skipping Games

Do you remember those days when you used to skip, hop and jump your way through a day? With everyone’s kids starting school again it reminded me of the old days where that was the only thing I did throughout a day.  In addition to those fun skipping games were the sayings that went with them. Did you also know there were certain names for the skipping games or jump rope games?

My favorite was

Not last night but the night before
24 robbers came a knocking at my door
I ask them what the want, and this is what they said.
Spanish dancers do the splits, the kicks
they turn around, touch the ground
Spanish dancers please come back, back, back
(doing what the rhyme says)
Then count till you screw up

or this one…

Cinderella, dressed in yella, went upstairs to kiss a fella, made a mistake, kissed a snake, how many doctors did it take?

(count after doctors as far as you can)

How do these skipping games work (Do you remember)?

  • Under the moon or front door: Running into a revolving rope rises away from the skipper once it touches the ground
  • Over the moon or back door: Running into a rope that rises toward the skipper
  • Rope Rotation Speed Terms: Sale=Slow, Mustard=Medium, Vinegar=Fast, Pepper=Very Fast
  • Keep the kettle boiling: Skippers (Jumpers) line up to jump into the rope, which maintains a steady rhythm. The rope should never be “empty”

But my all time favorite was the Double Jump. I grew up in California and though we lived in Orange county, my mother’s side of the family all originally from the south, lived in Los Angeles County, mostly in Gardena, Torrance, or Van Nuys.  Because of the ethnic difference in where they lived there were many varieties of race and color living there and I was exposed to many of them. To me they were just people. They were my weekend pals, my friends I played with and hung out with on weekends and during the summer.

Because of this ethic difference however, in Orange County no one liked to Double Jump Rope or even knew how. By friends from the block my cousins and grandmother lived on taught me. I learned the best way to play Double Dutch Jump Rope and it became my all time favorite skipping/jumping game of all!

A style of jump-rope, where two ropes are moved counter to one another. One person stands on each end of the whirling rope-complex, and a third person jumps in the middle of them.

Double dutch requires significantly more concentration than standard jump roping

Here is the How To of Double Dutch if you want to see if you and your kids can recreate this fun event

Other places to find Skipping info and Phrases http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skipping-rope_rhyme

I leave you with this ear worm that has been in my head since I deicded to do this post…

Two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickle onion on a sesame seed bun!

Please Leave a Reply

