Trisha Trixie Two Hundreth Post: How I Got Here & Where Am I Going

Today is the day I hit 200 posts on this page! A few of you sent in replies about what you wanted me to write about and such and the biggest outcome of those was the questions of

“How did I get from here to there?” Meaning what brought me here, the journey, how am I doing, and where am I going from here. What do I plan to do going forward and the journey it took to get to this point. I did talk about this before for an IFB Challenge, but I wanted to elaborate for this post (Click here for previous post)

Let’s take a quick backtrack. I used to model a long long time ago in 1988 back in California.  It wasn’t much but it was fun and I really enjoyed it. Then in the late 90’s I worked in Iowa doing some short term modeling and  stints around town. In 2010 I had the chance to be in a Fashion Show and was featured as well in the Juice Magazine in Des Moines, Iowa. All of these little modeling stints pulled at me to get back into modeling. But the timing wasn’t right and I just didn’t want to do Commercial.

In 2009 I added another website to my list of others I was doing and tried my hand at a Fashion website where one could come into a community of others who were also interested in Fashion. In essence it was like a dating website but for Fashion. I talked to many people, I had a few on the site, and I even discussed this with StartUpCityDSM and others in Business and the field. It fell to the ground and I let it fall.

I went back to cubicle work to earn some money under my belt since I did not have anyone handing out dollar bills my way to fund my ideas and business like many other do. Here I was, in all my businesses, doing this by the sweat of my brow. Yet, I was still determined to keep up with my thoughts and ideas and go for what I loved to do.

In 2011, I ventured into doing Art. Just art, drawing, digital art, etc of the like. I didn’t really think I wanted to be an artist for the rest of my life full time but it was good for me to unleash that inner side of creativity out of me and honestly I needed to do it to heal after a life altering event that happened.

It was like it all hit me. I wanted to do what I LOVED to do. Model and Fashion. But not just anything. I wanted to go back to Vintage Modeling and creating Fashions for others.

So in 2012 with assistance from family and friends, I ventured into the world of working in a cubicle gaining money under my belt and living life like most people do I think. They have something they TRULY desire to do, yet allowed the humdrum part of like to weigh them down and not do what they loved. That was NOT ME and I was hating every minute of it. I did however meet some amazing new people and friends along the way and the cubicle life for a time reminded me why I am an Entrepreneur. Because I thrive off my OWN life and my OWN ideas.

It is really hard to live your dream when you are getting paid to help someone else live theirs. I do not like working for the man and watching my life pass by while I punched a time clock.

2013 came around and when that contract was over I jumped head first into a pool of uncertainty yet again and did everything I could to have the life I desired. I knew I wanted to fully be invested in my brand and what I was doing but I didn’t know how. Somehow I fell into the lap of knowledge about IFB Independent Fashion Bloggers and saw there was an even in February where there would be workshops and a chance to really learn and connect. I just knew deep down in my gut, that I had to go, this was it, this was my jumping off point.

I saved the money up to go and got assistance from those around me for extra funds to pay for it all. It was exactly what I wanted, needed and yearned for. I learned so much and met so many people. As I said earlier, I talk about it more here.

It changed my life. But the one thing that really changed the direction of success I made I feel is credited to Susan Baroncini-Moe who wrote Business in Blue Jeans. I won a session with her and in 30 minutes I felt I knew more of what I had to do that I had learned in the past year. Sometimes, things just hit you and people get put in your path for a reason. I like to listen when that happens.

At the time I was scattered, doing everything regarding fashion. The funny thing is that all I really wanted to do what Aprons and Accessories. She encouraged me to focus on my own Trademark, do what I love and don’t fight it. After doing some investigation I found out I would have to change my Trademark anyway because of my business name was connected to another business and since I own the rights to Trisha Trixie I claimed it.

I went through a re-branding and re- everything. Sadly at the time everyone jumped ship at the same time as well. Luckily I am not Kelly Coutrone, but at time I feel like it because I tend to have people come and go, but I guess perhaps that is the business.

Since March of 2013 when I made that vast change in my business, things have gone up , up an away from here. Sometimes it dearly is hard to remember to come down off my cloud and see things for how they are.

I have done well in sales. I have been through great learning processes and have made changes and adjustments along the way. Some for the good and some I have had to change again and again. Having your own business is quite the learning process. It is a trial and error and sometimes trial by fire times and moments.

I am still changing, growing and learning but I think things are going well.

I am currently a 7 Miracles a Month Group with Stephannie St. Claire and it it amazing and well worth it. A great group of people and a wonderful tribe that also encourages and inspires.

I write for my blog and for a few others here and there but mostly www.desmoinesisnotboring.com. 

I have done a few guests posts on various sites.

I have items in local shops and online.

I sell at Tradeshows and Craft Fairs as well.

The fall in 2013 is looking to be a great one.

I will be going back to New York for NYFW, New York Fashion Week as a gift from IFB that I won when I was there last. I am taking my man who has never been there and we plan on going to a few Fashion Shows. Who knows, maybe I will get recognized by what I am wearing and might meet some people who will help me along the way. It also could just be a great trip with my man. I am open for anything.

I have my SECOND Fashion Show for the year planned. The first was a mini show for a Residential Facility. It was light and fun. The second is my main event and I am planning, creating, doing everything I can to make this a Fabulous Event. Omaha Fashion Week told me when I applied for them this year, that they felt Aprons would NOT translate on the runway. I am out to prove them wrong. So far, I have done well in that quest.

This fall I will also be doing a variety of other Craft Shows, Fairs etc to get my brand out there and sell. I plan on hosting a few events on my own and seeing how that goes.

I have started a new side of my business to inspire and encourage others as well as doing what I love to do. To me, they go hand i hand. Be Fabulous Campaign is a part of who I am and who this business is. I think others need to see and learn to be the real authentic selves and their passions will help them be fruitful i their life like mine has.

I am creating a Fabulous Fall and am ready to wait and see what the rest of 2013 turns out to be and will re asses this plan of action for 2014.

I am thinking of adding some Home Baked Goodness  in with my aprons and maybe some other items and changing things up a bit. Maybe gift baskets with an Apron, a Treat, a Potholder to match the apron and a wooden spoon. I don’t want to be a bakery and take orders. I just want to bake what I love and share it with others. It is a means to bring to life the Old Fashioned Goodies like Grandma used to make. Simple, Sweet, Delicious. The thought concept is “Yes, there are still women who like to be in the kitchen” 🙂

Who knows what the future holds, but I do know this:

  • I am enjoying my life.
  • It might be hard at times but it is worth it
  • I love what I do and I have a fire and passion for it that I think others feel and see.
  • I love this life and will keep on keeping on.
  • When I wrote about this back in March these were the Goals I had back then. I wanted to bring them back up and share and show you were I am now in relation to these goals and dreams:

My Future Desires:

  • I hope to accomplish a full line of Aprons and show at Omaha Fashion Week and one day soon at New York Fashion Week.
    OFW turned me down but I have had one mini Fashion Show already and planning the main one for October 13, 2013
  • I hope to be able to sell in a boutique or store for at least the next 6 months to a year.
    My items can now be found in three local boutiques and online in two places
  • I hope to have my own boutique in the next two years
    The quest for my own boutique is out there, but I am waiting until after my Fashion Show to see the reaction from my town and how my sales are at that time
  • I hope to be known as a name in the PinUp industry for TrishaTrixie and for my modeling uniqueness and my amazing fashions
    I was in a local magazine and on a Local Morning TV Show which helped others to recognize me more. I do hear from time time time “Aren’t you….and it warms and delights my heart to hear so
  • I hope to be published in online and offline magazines and hopefully some widely known ones
    I was featured in one local mag and might possibly be featured in a regular online mag
  • I hope to be a speaker at a variety of events in my town and in other places about these accomplishments
    I have yet to be a speaker but the year isn’t over yet
  • I hope to one day be one of the speakers at IFBCON within the next two years if not sooner (wink and smile)
    Perhaps the grander I get and the more success I can show by doing what I love will help IFB see an interest in me. This goal is still very much alive in me
  • I hope TrishaTrixie  to be names people hear and learn to love!  I am working on it, but it is starting to happen!

The final thing I want to say is for other to be themselves. Enjoy life. Go for their goals. Live out their dreams. Do what works for them.  But if it is not working for them, see how others are doing it. Talk to advisers and gurus or those you admire and find out how they do it. Expect Miracles.

The most joy I have ever had in life was reaching, yearning and going for my goals and dreams.

It may not always be easy.

But it is always worth it.

Until Next Time,

Xoxo Trisha Trixie

Happy 200th Post!!

Please Leave a Reply

