What not Wednesday: Finding your Inspiration

 

I am a big fan on living by a motto.  It helps you keep on track.  My inspiration in life came from my grandmother.  See, I have always been known as a people pleasing perfectionist.  I’d never speak my mind, but my grandmother said to me,

“Nothing and nobody is perfect.  Who wants to be nothing and nobody?” 

When I find myself in a rut or overstressed, I just stop and repeat this motto to myself.

There are many other quotes that inspire my life.  As many of my friends and family know I am a huge Audrey Hepburn fan. I love this quote by her

“I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.” 

I am the kind of girl who loves to enjoy the beauty in the world, but sometimes I forget to listen to the good internal voices.  There are so many bad voices in the world.  However, I have a metaphor for all the bad things in the world.  This is an activity I do with teenage girls, but I actively use it in my own life.

Paint yourself a cup

  1. On a styrofoam cup, draw 4 items that you are proud of.  Examples; accomplishments, goals, family, friends, strengths or etc.
  2. I have everyone talk about their drawings.
  3. Then I tell the world that most people walk around holding out their cups.  I say, “Look how easy it is for me to put something in your cup'” and I pretend to drop an item there and I say something like, “You are very strong.”
  4. Then I stop and say, “What if I go to put something bad in your cup?  What do you do then?”  Responses vary as people are different.  I’ve gotten responses like, “I’d slap their hand, turn my cup upside down or just let it happen.”
  5. I propose that people hold their cups close like a football.  Then, they get to decide what goes inside.  If someone is having a bad day and says, “You aren’t good enough, ” I can stop and think and decide that this is their issue and not mine.  Their negativity does not belong in my cup.

This is a metaphor for life of course and I don’t literally hold a cup, but when people talk to me I decide if I want what they are offering me in m cup.  If not, I choose not to take it.  This may end some relationships as people don’t always respond well to your carefree attitude.  However, it is best to choose your own image.

I used to think
Trisha Trixie lives the motto

Be Fabulous! 

Let good forces guide you my friend.  Today, I am off as I too have been inspired by the Summer of Color and Trisha Trixie’s latest creation.

summer citron

 

So, I’m off to create!  Check back later for my creation.  🙂

 

One thought on “What not Wednesday: Finding your Inspiration

Please Leave a Reply

