Saturday Special: Gardening in a vintage way

Gardening in a Vintage way

I take many of my gardening ideas from my grandmother.  When I dig in the dirt, I still hear her voice.  I guess the garden is the place that I go to be near her.  I am thankful for all that she has taught me and hope that I might be able to share her passion with you.  I don’t guarantee results, but this is the way we have always done it!

First of all, you can garden any place.  I started pot gardening in my first apartment.

get-attachment-11.aspx
This is a tomato plant and it already has yellow flowers and a tiny tomato.  All signs that this is a healthy plant.
Second, gardening has to be fun.  Wear cute cloves and a pretty apron!  If you are going to do it, do it in style.  Find many cute items now available at our etsy shop!
sunflower pink-gloves
Now, you’ll want to keep the critters out.  My grandma never used harsh chemicals and neither do I.  I like to pull weeds, but I do use organic preen.  Also, to keep out the bunnies and other varmints I plant green onions and Zinnias.  I never eat the onions and they come back year after year on there own.
get-attachment-17.aspx
When we plant lettuce, we dig a small trowel and place the seeds inside.  After the seeds go in, we brush the dirt over the seeds.  Use plenty, some will wash away!
get-attachment-13.aspx
Beans are fun to plant.  It always makes me think of jack and the bean stalk.  It is truly amazing that little beans become plants.  We dig little holes and then fill them in.
We, usually, plant two rows of beans.  The idea of planting three is the hope that one bean will make it to maturity.
Our garden also has peppers, pumpkins and a few herbs.  What do you like in your garden?  Have other helpful gardening trick or tips?  We’d love to hear them.

Please Leave a Reply

